Effective January 1, 2018:
Enhanced penalties apply upon conviction for driving while revoked if the driver is revoked for aggravated DUI that resulted in a death. The prosecution of an Aggravated DUI resulting in the death of another person may be commenced at any time.
Effective Aug. 22, 2017:
Enhanced penalties apply upon conviction for driving while revoked if the driver is revoked for aggravated DUI that resulted in death. The prosecution may be commenced at any time.
Effective August 12, 2016:
The Chief Judge of the circuit court of any Illinois county may order the establishment of a program for electronic monitoring of offenders for alcohol and drug consumption.
Effective August 11, 2017:
The Secretary of State shall be notified when a person has been convicted of or received a court supervision for operating a snowmobile or watercraft while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or intoxicating compounds.
Effective Aug. 11, 2017:
Public officials shall report to the Secretary of State when a juvenile has been convicted or received court supervision for a DUI while operating a snowmobile or watercraft.
Effective January 1, 2017:
A guilty plea will not be accepted until all penalties have been explained including the possible loss of driving privileges
The Secretary of State shall notify the driver and the Illinois Department of Public Health will revoked a medical cannabis card for a driver convicted of a felony violation of the state or federal Control Substance Act, the Cannabis Control Act of the Methamphetamine Control Act.
Effective July 29, 2016:
Any person with a THC level of 5 nanograms or more per milliliter of whole blood or 10 nanograms or more per milliliter of other bodily substances may be CHARGED WITH A DUI.
Effective Jan. 1, 2016:
A first-time DUI offender is now eligible to apply for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) during the first 30 days of a statutory summary suspension.
A repeat DUI offender is now eligible to apply for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) during a statutory summary suspension (previously no driving relief was available).
A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for life as the result of 4 DUI convictions may apply for a Restricted Driving Permit after serving a 5-year revocation and proving a minimum of 3 years of abstinence. The person may only drive vehicles that have been equipped with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device.
A person with 2 or 3 DUI convictions must obtain a restricted driving permit, install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device on all vehicles owned by the person and may only drive vehicles equipped with the device for a period of 5 years before full driving privileges are FULLY RESTORED.
A person who has resided in Illinois for a minimum of 10 years and whose driver’s license was revoked in his/her former state of residence may seek an administrative hearing to ask for the issuance of an Illinois driver’s license.
A person under age 21 may not be charged with possession or consumption of alcohol by a minor if that person (1) requested medical assistance for an individual due to alcohol consumption; (2) remained at the scene after contacting authorities; and (3) provided his/her full name, other relevant information and cooperated fully with law enforcement officers.